## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

June 15, 2022

Ms. Isabel Guzman Administrator Small Business Administration 409 3rd St., SW Washington, DC 20416

Dear Administrator Guzman,

We write to express concerns regarding the lack of transparency around the end of the Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) program. Congress has appropriated over \$1 trillion in critical support for the hardest-hit small businesses, including funds for the Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) program. While EIDL has helped more than 3.9 million small businesses across the country, many were shut out from receiving relief in the first round or left in the dark on the status of their applications with the Small Business Administration (SBA). We urge you to work with these small business EIDL applicants to provide immediate relief. They deserve clarity.

Thousands of small businesses are still feeling the effects of the pandemic, and some have had to close all together. Not only have many of these businesses lost two years' worth of revenue, but it will also take them years to financially recover from the debt they have accrued to stay afloat during this time. Since SBA stopped accepting applications for new COVID EIDL loans on January 1, 2022 and stopped accepting both loan increase requests and requests for reconsideration of previously declined loan applications on May 5, 2022, our offices have received numerous phone calls and emails from disappointed small business owners in our districts who were left without recourse or relief.

What we find most concerning is that SBA attributes its latest decision to funds having been depleted but failed to communicate this with our constituents well ahead of time and even provided inconsistent information to those with pending applications throughout the process – despite doing their due diligence to give SBA what was asked of them in a timely manner. Specifically, we have heard from constituents with pending applications who were told by SBA that they would be or had been approved, and that the deadline would not be an issue, or whose inquiries were left unanswered for months and all were subsequently denied after funds had been depleted. These constituents were not notified by the SBA that being approved was not the final step in the application process, rather that the funds had to be obligated before the deadline. We also heard from some constituents who were never given the opportunity to make adjustments to their original application or were outright denied with little to no explanation but told to appeal the decision by May 6, 2022, only to be denied again due to funding issues.

The lack of transparency and accountability in how SBA has chosen to adjudicate and process applications is alarming, as is the repeated pattern of miscommunication our constituents have

experienced. We urge you to provide clarity on how SBA processed applications and intends to remedy these shortfalls going forward.

We look forward to a response from you on these issues.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. ♥ Member of Congress

Vasti

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

phana Haycs

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

lin

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress

hKm

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Ainde J. Jan

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

/itas

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Yvette D. Clarke

Vette D. Clarke Member of Congress

und

Elaine G. Luria Member of Congress

Iom Off

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

ia

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

hing

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Mark Jalaan

Mark Takano Member of Congress

who I ign

Don Bacon Member of Congress

al M. Cullie

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

m

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

d Case E

Ed Case Member of Congress

welwel

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

and M.

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

liai

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Karen Bass Member of Congress

rey E Manut

Stacey E/Plaskett Member of Congress

34

Al Lawson Member of Congress

Aregory WMeetos

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Thomas

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Laskeda Flail

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

n'

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Eleano H. Norton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Trank Pallon.

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

bar

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Ann Kirkpatrick ' Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

cd

David Scott Member of Congress

James R Langevin

James R. Langevin Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Conolyn B. Malry

Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

mick. Kiedee

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

ind

Ron Kind Member of Congress

nsie lee

Susie Lee Member of Congress

oe Neguse Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

1at

Colin Z. Alfred Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

1. Juis Sylvia R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Marcu

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

DIND

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Kowen that

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Mille Ler

Mike Levin Member of Congress

James P. Mr. Donem

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

li Cm

Charlie Crist Member of Congress

10.Cll

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

-

Take Auchincloss Member of Congress

Jaime Herrera Butler

Jaime Herrera Beutler Member of Congress